Measuring Results: Google AdWords
By Distinct Advantage Partner |
Multiple veterinarians and their teams have told me that Google AdWords appears to be a black hole with no bottom. In actuality, it really brings tails through the door. Plus, Google is a data-rich environment when it comes to Google Ads. Why? Because the better an ad performs by sending tails through the doors of veterinary hospitals, the more ads will be utilized. To assist in ads performing well, Google gives a wealth of data to manipulate the ad to perform better.
The multiple pieces of data that Google gives an account when an ad is run determines its success. It is the job of the AdWords manager to analyze this data and tell the client how the ad is performing. However, it is best business practice to understand enough about the underpinnings of Google AdWords to ask intelligent questions and to know if your hospital’s money is being well spent.
Click-through rate (CTR)
When Google AdWords are run, the goal is to have an action occur—click-to-call, click-to-text or click-to-website are the standard engagement items for an ad. The tracking information is called the Click-Through Rate. On average, 1 percent is a good response for an ad. At Beyond Indigo, we see CTR that we generate for our clients as high as 10–15 percent with an average of 3–4 percent for desktop and 5 percent for mobile. It is important to know what the rates are for both desktop and mobile because people search differently depending on the device. Make sure to ask a provider, when interviewing for their services, what their average CTR is on their ads.
For example, the chart (below) illustrates what is seen in a Google AdWords report. It shows the number of Clicks (270); how many people saw the ad, known as “Impressions” (2,159); the CTR (12.51 percent); Cost of the entire campaign ($198.93); Average Position, which means what ad position it was out of 4 (1.3); Conversions, or how many actions were taken; and the Total Cost Per Conversion ($3.32). Using this example, 60 conversions, therefore, cost $198.93. A practice only pays for an action/conversion—not an impression.
Conversion and Cost Per Conversion
The next step is to check with the hospital’s practice information management system (PIMS) to see how many new clients or bookings occurred in the timeframe the ad was generated, and multiply that by the average transaction charge per client. For example, if the ad was for new clients, how many new clients came through the door? Or, how many dentals were booked? How many boarding slots filled? Ads are very specific to help keep conversion rates high.
In the example we are using, 60 conversions could potentially bring in $9,000 worth of business if the average transaction rate was $150 per client.
Not bad—$198.93 for a potential of $9,000. Or, a report on total sales for all the customers who walked through the door because of the ad can be generated to know the exact amount, and that total potential could be even higher.
Good management matters
Amazingly enough, at Beyond Indigo we hear that people have ad campaigns that were crafted two years ago and never touched since! Google severely frowns on this type of management. In fact, to keep a Google Partner Certification Badge, an agency needs to touch an ad multiple times per week. If poor managements occurs, an agency is tapped on the shoulder by Google to start looking at the ads or lose their certification status. Touching an ad means it is tweaked and adjusted to its optimal performance. For example, Beyond Indigo worked with Parktown Veterinary Clinic in Milpitas, Calif.
Before Beyond Indigo managed the campaign, ads were performing as follows from 11.1.15 to 11.1.16:
- 4,909 Clicks
- 2.96% CTR
- 145 Conversions
- $47.49 Cost per Conversion
After we began managing their campaign, from 11.1.16 to 11.1.17, the numbers massively improved:
- 5,495 Clicks (+11.94%)
- 5.42% CTR (+82.87%)
- 646 Conversions (+345.52%)
- $12.76 Cost per Conversion (-73.12%)
Conversions went up by a whopping 345.52 percent and the cost, oh my, the cost went down by $73.12, or $34.72 per click. Two things happened here with good management. First, the client increased engagements by 501 actions. The additional 501 actions increased tails through the door and dollars to the bottom line. If the average transaction was $150, the potential revenue increased by $75,150 dollars! On the flip side, good management would have saved the hospital $5,035.85 in ad fees from 11.1.15 to 11.1.16, with just the 145 conversations generated that year, if not a single more conversion was generated.
Beyond Indigo is a badged Google Partner. We generate average CTR of 3–4 percent on desktop and 5 percent on mobile. We know how to generate revenue and tails through the door by increasing conversions and dropping the cost per conversion. We focus on results first and discuss costs second. We have been on the cutting edge of digital marketing for the last 20 years. We deeply know how Google works, how to manage reviews, and how to build websites. Call Melissa Neff at 877.244.9322, ext. 100, or email her at Melissa@BeyondIndigo.com to have us assist you!
Also check out: